iPhone as a setting circle?

After lots of painful reading and searching for modifications related to putting setting circles on dobsonian telescopes, printing out a circle that likely scaled down via the printer, and failing miserably at establishing a plan, I realized I had the tools I needed right on my iPhone to act as both a compass and altitude angle measurement.

Two apps are necessary. One is free and comes with every iPhone. The other is inexpensive and useful for other things, although there is a free version available.

iHandy Carpenter & Compass

Apple includes a built in Compass app in iOS 5, so all I have to do is align the center of the scope with the iPhone and turn the base in the desired direction. Assuming the built in compass is accurate and I’ve centered my iPhone on the base, I should have a solid reading to work with.

With iHandy Carpenter, I can use the bubble level feature to measure the altitude/tilt of my tube. All I have to do is make sure I’m on level ground and then place my iPhone behind the finder scope, up against the finderscope base and I’m perfectly aligned. If I’m not level, I can always use the level reading to adjust my final altitude, right?

In theory, this should work. All I need is the location of an object, so using SkySafari’s data on a centered object, I should be good to go.

Example:
M81 or Bode’s galaxy at 10:30pm is at N 355.7° and has an altitude of 49°.

Set my compass to 355°.

Set Carpenter to 49°.

I should be close, if not dead on.

The down side is, I will kill my night vision by using these apps, but if it means I can find an object faster, I think I can live with the risk.

One comment on “iPhone as a setting circle?

  1. It didn’t work. The compass was anywhere from 10° to 20° off and it was not consistently off by the same amount. The angle also seemed to vary and despite checking if I was level and using a known object, it wasn’t at all useful.

    I guess I will go back to starhopping until I can make a working circle for my base.

Leave a comment